On June 23, 2022, Hawaii adopted House Bill (HB) 2510. Among other things, HB 2510 raises the state’s minimum wage to $18 per hour by Jan. 1, 2028. The first increase will take place Oct. 1, 2022.
Hawaii Minimum Wage Rate
The table below provides an overview of Hawaii’s minimum wage laws.
|Effective date||Jan. 1, 2018||Oct. 1, 2022||Jan. 1, 2024||Jan. 1, 2026||Jan. 1, 2028|
|State of Hawaii||$10.10||$12||$14||$16||$18|
- Tipped Employees: The maximum allowed tip credit toward the minimum wage is 75 cents per hour. If a tipped employee customarily and regularly receives more than $20 a month in tips, an employer may be able to pay tipped employees less than the applicable minimum wage by applying the tip credit. Click here for more information and illustrative examples of the calculation of the tip credit.
- Domestic Workers: Minimum wage and overtime protections under Chapter 387 of the Wage and Hour Law generally apply to certain domestic workers. The law makes certain exceptions, including individuals employed in domestic services on a “casual basis” and individuals providing companionship services for the aged or infirm. Click here to read the text of the law.
- Workers with Disabilities: On June 16, 2021, Hawaii repealed the ability of employers in the state to pay lower wage rates to employees with disabilities. As a result, employers in Hawaii are now required to pay their disabled employees a wage rate at or above the minimum wage rate.
Under a law in Hawaii, a hotel that applies a service charge for porterage services must distribute the service charge directly to its employees as tip income or clearly disclose to the purchaser of the services that the service charge is being used to pay for costs or expenses other than wages and tips of employees. “Porterage” means the act of moving luggage, bags, or parcels between a guest room and a lobby, front desk, or any area with vehicular access at a hotel, hotel-condominium, or condominium-hotel.
- Hawaii Minimum Wage Information
- Minimum Wage FAQs from the U.S. Wage and Hour Division
- Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees in Hawaii
- Hawaii Department of Labor and Industrial Relations
Please Note: The state laws summaries featured on this site are for general informational purposes only. In addition to state law, certain municipalities may enact legislation that imposes different requirements. State and local laws change frequently and, as such, we cannot guarantee the accuracy or completeness of the information featured in the State Laws section. For more detailed information regarding state or local laws, please contact your state labor department or the appropriate local government agency.